Tags

I feel the rain tap on my head,

Could it be your tears?

Do you need a friend?

I don’t know how far,

and I don’t know how long,

all I know is that He’s faithful.

Such love, it burns deep inside.

I know that you’ll be worth

all the tears that I have cried.

-∞-

I got this beautiful poem from the book “When God Writes Your Love Story” by Eric & Leslie Ludy. The poem expresses the person’s trust and willingness to wait for the Lord to show the right person for him/her. Some of us may be caught in the concept that because our biological clock is ticking and no one seems to notice our existence, we can go ahead of God’s plan in choosing our life partner. Ask me, been there and I know how it feels. Some friends and even relatives would try to insist this kind of thinking on me. They say that I should do something about it because I’m in my late 20s.  They would say such things like I should lower my standards, socialize with guys, don’t be a snob, and etc…etc.

Well, it’s not that I’m not socializing with guys or am repelling them. I’m actually very shy with guys and people misunderstood it as being a snob.  I’m not exposed in an environment where there are many guys. I grew up with people who always tell me to prioritize my studies. I was not allowed to have boyfriends when I was studying. When I had suitors, it would be a secret shared only with my sisters and cousins. Also my situation made it impossible for me to socialize with guys. I go to work early in the morning and usually go home very late at night. I don’t have time to go around places to meet new people.  I have learned to be happy being single. It came to a point where I am contented being alone and would rather stay at home.

It was February and few days before Valentines Day (I don’t believe in Valentines Day, by the way), every night I would go home and see girls with their boyfriends accompanying them home. I felt so lonely. Add to that, it has been raining everyday as if the weather is making me feel more miserable. I was crying to the Lord that night and asking Him why  I don’t still have a boyfriend.

God answered me in a remarkable way. The next day as I was about to go home, I dropped by a Christian bookstore. There was this book that caught my attention. It was the last copy of it. I bought it and started reading the whole night. I would have finished the book that night until dawn but I had to sleep and go to work the next day. One by one my questions were answered and my doubts were replaced by hope.

This book made a big difference in how I view my lovelife now. Since then I have never felt miserable or hopeless. Sure I still feel lonely from time to time which is normal for we are human. I also long for a companionship that is different from that of your friends or family. However, I am more trusting in God now than before. I have given Him the pen and allowed Him to write my love story. I  let Him choose the characters as well.

I have entrusted my heart to God. I asked Him to be in-charge in this area of my life.  He knows better than I or anyone else. He knows the right person just for me. Just because my time hasn’t come as early as the others doesn’t mean that I should  settle for less. I’d like to think and I have faith in God that He reserved a guy especially made for me. So whenever people would ask me why am I still single, I would always say that God isn’t finished with the story yet.  I wonder in what chapter would I meet my future spouse (yes, spouse and not boyfriend). I’m excited to know on what chapter He’s working on now. I’m sure that it would be the most romantic love story I’ve ever read, because it is my own love story written by the author and creator of romance Himself!

God calls us to remember His promises…

“Wait patiently for the LORD. Be brave and courageous. Yes, wait patiently for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14

“My soul, wait thou only upon God; for my expectation is from him.” Psalms 62:5

 

