Tags

, , ,

BapCommWebBanner(1)

September 26, 1992.

The day I died and was raised back to life.

I died to my old self and old life the moment I was submerged in the watery grave. That triumphant moment when I emerged from the water as a new person, marked the beginning of my lifetime journey with my Redeemer.

Today is my 21st baptism day.

It’s been 21 years of never-ending cycle of victory, failures, growth, temptation, inspiration, hardship, renewal, struggles and all the things a person experiences when becoming a Christian. I must say that I am still far from being a perfect Christian, for perfection of character (a.ka. sanctification) is a lifetime process. It is my desire that my character be polished, transformed, perfected and be fitted for heaven. But most importantly, to have a Christ-like character.

I’m continually praying and patiently waiting for that glorious appearing of my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ on His second coming and be found rejoicing with Him and with ten thousands and thousands upon thousands of angels. To be changed from mortal to immortal, from corruptible to incorruptible in a twinkling of an eye, and be caught up with Him in glory.

What is baptism and why do we need it?

 Baptism (from the Greek noun βάπτισμα baptisma)

  • baptisma: (the result of) a dipping or sinking
  • Cognate: 908 báptisma – baptism (note the –ma suffix, emphasizing it is a result, i.e. of sincere repentance.) 908 (báptisma) indicates submerging(dippingimmersion).

The Meaning of the Word “Baptize.” The English word baptize comes from the Greek verb baptizo, which implies immersion, since it is derived from the verb bapto, meaning “to dip in or under.” When the verb to baptize refers to water baptism it carries the idea of immersing, or dipping a person under water. (Source: sdanet.org)

baptism

By baptism we confess our faith in the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, and testify of our death to sin and of our purpose to walk in newness of life. Thus we acknowledge Christ as Lord and Saviour, become His people, and are received as members by His church. Baptism is a symbol of our union with Christ, the forgiveness of our sins, and our reception of the Holy Spirit. It is by immersion in water and is contingent on an affirmation of faith in Jesus and evidence of repentance of sin. It follows instruction in the Holy Scriptures and acceptance of their teachings.—Fundamental Beliefs, 14

“…Jesus replied, ‘Very truly I tell you, no one can see the kingdom of God unless they are born again.’ ” John 3:3

“…having been buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through your faith in the working of God, who raised him from the dead.” Colossians 23:12

We usually celebrate our birth date but not our baptism day. So today, I will celebrate my special day with my Redeemer.

1264353_10201955420397871_669961565_o

Happy “second” birthday to me^^* Sponge cake with leche flan topping.

Photo Credit: Google Images

Baptism Definition:  Bible Suite

For more info about this subject, please visit http://www.sdanet.org

