As I was commenting on one of the blogs I visited, a certain phrase caught my attention and the 26 letters of the alphabet came flying and swirling all over my medium-sized brain.  “A PERSON WITH NO TALENT(S)”

i-have-no-special-talentsI, myself, for half the years of my existence, was convinced that I have no talent(s). That’s the main reason I hated “Talent Night Show” in school or church programs. While most of my friends could sing, dance, play musical instruments or tickle everyone’s funny bones, I couldn’t do any of those.

As I live and explore life, I met talented people. Exceptionally talented ones. I’m surrounded by friends who have not just one, but more talents than an average person has. My self-esteem lies just on the drainage level. I was envious of those who can confidently do a lot of things. If only they could give me one of their talents, especially those who doesn’t appreciate it, I’d be the happiest person in the world!

Sometimes you’ll be in a situation where “you gotta to do what you gotta to do” or simply, “you gotta to do it because no one else will do it.” That’s when I started to discover what I’m capable of. At first, I cannot call it a talent, just a passion. I love doing and learning things about it because it’s what makes me happy and feel accomplished. I began to do it effortlessly that others began to notice. Those who noticed were the ones who actually said that it is my talent.

A new dawn has come. 

I discovered my talent!

The  more I use it, especially to help someone, that more I learn and became good at it. Others may call it a skill, because it is something I’ve learned to do. But for me, it is also a talent because it is not only how you do it, but why you’re doing it.

Jesus-Christ-and-the-parable-of-the-talentsThis reminds me of the parable of the talents in Matthew 25: 14-30: Three persons were given by their Master, talents or in Bible times, money. To one, he gave 5 talents, to the other, he gave 2 talents, and to another 1 talent. The Master went away on a journey. While he was gone, the person who received 5 talents went at once and put his money to work and gain 5 more talents. So did the person who received 2 talents. But the one who received only 1 talent dug a hole and hid it.

When the Master came back, he asked about the talents he had given them. The two persons brought the talents they received and the amount they’ve gained.  The Master was delighted and put them in charge of many things. But the one who received and hid his talent was afraid and gave back the 1 talent. The Master was angry because he was lazy and didn’t use what he was given. At the end, the 1 talent that he had, has been taken away and was given to the one who previously has 5 talents which became 10 talents.

MORAL LESSON: Whatever God entrusted to us, we should use it, not for our own glory but to glorify the one who has given us. The more we use our talents, the more it will grow. If we don’t use it, we will lose it. Think of an investment. The more we invest, the more we’ll gain. In the end, God will hold us accountable for what He has given us. What have we done to the things He has entrusted us. Are we using it for His glory or for exalting ourselves?

Now, I do believe that ALL of us have a talent or two. Some may have discovered it at an early age, others may not just be aware that they have it. One thing I know, for sure, the more you use it, the more it will grow. If you’re not using it, it will be taken away from you.

So, what’s your talent?

