“The melody of praise is the atmosphere of heaven; and when heaven comes in touch with the earth, there is music and song — ‘thanksgiving and the voice of melody.'” ~~ Education, p161

 “Song is a weapon that we can always use against discouragement.” ~~ Ministry of Healing, p254

My eldest brother once told me a story during a blackout. I was young then and was all ears listening to the story. Little did I know that it will turn out to be a scary one that made me scream and cry. He was reprimanded by our aunt for making me cry.

From then on, I hated scary stuffs. He also told me that whenever I am scared, I could just sing religious songs to drive away the bad angels.  I thought that was just an excuse so he won’t have to get up and go with me whenever I want to go to the bathroom at night.

I grew up and learned that it is actually true! Whenever we are happy and rejoicing in God’s love, the enemies are driven away. They just couldn’t bear to see and hear us praising God in songs and in prayers. Thankfulness is the melody of our prayers. It is a sweet music to the ears of God, and it pleases Him.

Let rejoicing, thanksgiving and praise set the tone of our prayers.

 

